Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Apr 22, 2013 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

Norma K. Hemming award shortlist announced

Over on the Australian Science Fiction Foundation site there is an announcement of the shortlist for this year’s Norma K. Award, for which I am one of the jurors, along with Sarah Endacott, Rob Gerrand, and Tess Williams. The Norma K. Award is given for excellence in science fiction or fantasy work that¬†explores¬†themes of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability.

This year’s shortlist is:

Kate Forsyth, Bitter Greens.

Margo Lanagan, Sea Hearts.

Rowena Cory Daniells, The Outcast Trilogy (comprising Besieged, Exile, and Sanctuary).

Jo Spurrier, Winter Be My Shield.

As you’ll see if you follow the link, the judges have commented briefly on each of the shortlisted works. The award will be announced next weekend at Conflux, the 2013 national science fiction convention.